NMR Information Server

From: Mitsu Ikura, Chair, ICMRBS
Sent: Thursday, January 05, 2012 2:26 PM

Call for Nominations

ICMRBS Founders’ Medal


The International Conference of Magnetic Resonance in Biological Systems (ICMRBS; http://www.icmrbs.org) was co-founded by Oleg Jardetzky, Mildred Cohn, and Robert Schulman in 1964. The conference has been organized biannually over the past half century, and currently attracts between 800 and 1,000 scientists to a six-day scientific forum held at different locations across the world.

In 2002, the ICMRBS Council established the Founders’ Medal to recognize exceptional contributions by young scientists (under 41 years at the time of the award) to the development and/or progress of the field of magnetic resonance in biological systems. An award winner will receive the Medal as well as $3,000 (in USD), and she or he will be invited to present a lecture at the XXVth ICMRBS meeting, which will be held in Lyon, France, August 19-24, 2012.

Previous Recipients

Lewis Kay, Univ. of Toronto, Canada (2002), Nico Tjandra, National Institutes of Health, USA (2005), Marc Baldus, Max-Planck-Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Germany (2006), Chad Rienstra, Univ. of Illinois, USA (2008), and Mei Hong, Iowa State Univ., USA (2010).

Nomination Procedure

Nominations must be submitted by email to the Chair of the ICMRBS Council (2010-2012), Mitsu Ikura at mikura@uhnres.utoronto.ca . The deadline for nominations is March 31st, 2012. The nomination package should include (1) cover letter, (2) outline of the candidate’s “exceptional contributions”, (3) the candidate’s CV and publication list.

Selection Committee

Peter Wright (Chair), Marc Baldus, Masatsune Kainosho, Ann McDermott, Thomas Prisner

NMR Information Server

Page hosted by SpinCore Technologies, Inc.