NMR Information Server

From: Prof. Gareth Morris, University of Manchester
Sent: Tuesday, October 25, 2011 4:06 PM

The Russell Varian Lecture and Prize

The Russell Varian prize honors the memory of the pioneer behind the first commercial Nuclear Magnetic Resonance spectrometers and co-founder of Varian Associates. The prize is awarded to a researcher based on a single innovative contribution (a single paper, patent, lecture, or piece of hardware) that has proven of high and broad impact on state-of-the-art NMR technology. The prize aims to reward the initial contribution that laid the ground for the specific technology of great importance in state-of-the-art NMR. It is sponsored by Agilent Technologies and carries a monetary award of 15,000 Euro. The award ceremony will take place at the XXVth ICMRBS in Lyon, August 19-24, 2012, with the winner delivering the Russell Varian Lecture.

Rules for the Russell Varian Prize

Call for Nominations

Nominations must be forwarded by email to the Secretary of the Prize Committee, Gareth A. Morris at g.a.morris@manchester.ac.uk. The deadline for nominations is February 13, 2012. Nominations should be laid out in the format of a publishable laudatio proposal (cf. earlier laudatios below, or at http://www.chem.agilent.com/en-US/Products/Instruments/magneticresonance/nmr/Pages/varian-prize.aspx) that in the case of multiple authorship must include an outline of why the nominee is the most innovative author behind the paper. Attention is further drawn to the fact that the Russell Varian prize rewards the earliest seed paper of an important technology rather than later more comprehensive and highly quoted papers.

Prize Committee

Muriel Delepierre (ICMRBS 2012 representative), Jean Jeener (Chairman), Ēriks Kupče, Gareth A. Morris (Secretary), Alex Pines, and Ole W. Sørensen

Advisory Board for the Russell Varian Prize

Erwin Hahn, Nicolaas Bloembergen, John S. Waugh, Alfred G. Redfield, Albert W. Overhauser, Martin Karplus

NMR Information Server

Page hosted by SpinCore Technologies, Inc.